Blogger Book Fair! Speculative Fiction Event | Robin Lythgoe

Hello everyone! Today is the beginning of the Blogger Book Fair Speculative Fiction event. All week I’ll be featuring author on my blog for the event. If you didn’t know already, I’m the organizer of the event, and I can’t wait to show off some of the authors.

First up we have Robin Lythgoe, author of As the Crow Flies. When I received her entry I was instantly drawn in by the cover of her book. Isn’t is fantastic? I just love the aged look and the black contrast. Don’t forget to enter the giveaways below and visit the BBF website for more.

As the Crow Flies

Fantasy | Adult

AsTheCrowFlies_600x800For a thief, getting caught is never a good thing. Getting caught by a wizard is even worse.

‘One more job’ meant that Crow, a notorious thief, could retire with Tarsha, the woman of his dreams, but ‘one more job’ may just mean his life.

When he sets out to abscond with that last brilliant treasure and seek a life of ease and pleasure with the jewel of his heart, Crow seriously underestimates his mark, the Baron Duzayan. Under threat of death by poison, Crow is coerced into stealing an improbable, mythical prize. To satisfy the wizard’s greed and save the life of his lady love, he must join forces with Tanris, the one man he has spent his entire career avoiding.

But what’s a man to do when stealing that fabled prize could level an empire and seal his fate?

From a dungeon black as night, to the top of a mountain peak shrouded in legend, a man’s got to do what he must.

Until, of course, he can think of a better plan…

Buy Links:

Amazon | Other Formats

As the Crow Flies Excerpt

I had scarcely stepped out into the street with my handsome new acquisition when I was abruptly and rudely accosted. Two hulking pieces of manhood caught me by either arm, and I nearly lost both my hat and the burlap sack of supplies I carried. Lifting me right off my feet didn’t trouble either of them, and while they whisked me off down the street, I took a moment to recover my breath, my composure—more or less—and to study their identities. “Do I know the two of you?” I inquired politely while they plowed through puddles I would have chosen to go around. The first splash caught me rather by surprise, but I had the forethought to lift my feet for the second. No sense getting wetter when there was an alternative.

“Raza wants to have a chat with you,” the bruiser on my right informed me.

“Jolly for him. Would you be so good as to put me down? I think I remember how to walk.”

“We’ll help.”

“You’re too kind. Really.” I looked from one to the other, but they showed no sign of responding to gentle persuasion and we were making good speed down the street in a direction I had no desire to go. So I held on tight to my belongings and stuck my foot between the legs of the less chatty fellow on the left. He went down in a heap, and I went with him, rolling half onto him. The other man swore and scrambled, trying not to fall, too. I helped him out as best I could by swinging my sack at his head. There were a pair of grappling hooks in there, a climbing rope, metal cleats, and other sorts of paraphernalia a thief might find handy on the job. It knocked him backside over teakettle, which was rather satisfying and alarming at the same time.

Both my delight and my worry at the damage a hook might have caused were arrested by an arm around my throat.


 

Author Bio:

Robin_0123_pp_250Robin Lythgoe was born in Maryland, but spent several years in Oregon and did a short stint in upstate New York before moving to Utah. She married an artist, and together they have four wonderful children. Reading and writing have always been a part of her life, and she is particularly drawn to fantasy. When she was growing up her mother often led expeditions to the library, from which the entire party invariably returned laden with a stack of books guaranteed to make the arms longer. Robin read everything voraciously, and when she finished her stack, she’d start on her mother’s… and then her sisters’. Today she writes tales about wizards and magic, fantastical places and extraordinary journeys.

Her novel, “As the Crow Flies,” was selected as a Kindle Book Review, 2014 Kindle Book Awards Semifinalist.

Connect:

Website | Twitter | Facebook


 

Robin is also doing a giveaway! Enter below!

Giveaway

Official BBF Giveaways

$50 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

$30 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway

$20 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Interview

When did you start writing?

When I was a child—but I didn’t get serious about it until my second child was born. I suffered Bookus Interruptus until I kicked that sorry disease to the curb.

What inspires your writing?

What doesn’t? Music—yes, most especially—and chocolate, movies, books, the news, pictures, conversations… I love that inspiration is all around me, and all I have to do is open my eyes, pick something, and turn it over in my head until my imagination grabs it and runs like crazy.

What is the best part about being a writer?

Exercising my imagination and creativity. What a blast!

Is there something special or unique about you or your book you’d like to tell us about?

I am evidently fluid in the language of Snark. And so is Crow, the main character of my book!

2 thoughts on “Blogger Book Fair! Speculative Fiction Event | Robin Lythgoe

  1. Pingback: BBF Author – Robin Lythgoe | Blogger Book Fair

  2. Pingback: BBF Author – Kayla Curry | Blogger Book Fair

Leave a Reply

