My Self-Publishing Journal | Need Beta Readers!

Journal Entry #1

Well, I’m almost done with the first draft of Where the Carnies Are. My Goal is to be done with it by the 31st. This will be the very first full-length novel that I will self-publish and I’d like to share my journey with you for learning and information purposes–plus I might need people to celebrate with when things go right and people to gripe to when things go wrong.

I’m still trying to make some final decisions on the cover, but I will be showing it as soon as I have the first draft done. Here is a bit of a preview image:

carousel-168125_1920

To date, I have booked two editors and a formatter. My editors will be Samantha S. Lafantasie and Fel Wetzig. Samantha will be taking it after I complete the second draft for a general edit. Then I’ll be letting my beta readers take a look at it while I do some more self editing. Once I hear from my betas, I’ll send it to Fel for the polish. After I get it back from her I’m sure I’ll give it another look before sending it to JT Formatting for the aesthetic make-over.

So, speaking of beta readers, who wants to be one? I need up to 5 people that can read Where the Carnies Are for me. I should be able to have it to you in the beginning of March and I would need it back by the end of March. The plan is to release the book on April 30th. It will be around 60,000 words or so and here is the blurb:

Olive is having a very bad day. She caught her boyfriend cheating on her, she lost her job, and she stumbled into a portal leading to a secret carnival kingdom which she can’t escape. The good news is she meets an eccentric, but stunningly handsome knife thrower. The bad news is she can’t go home for another two months.

The world she lands in is full of sideshow characters, terrifying amusement rides and her biological parents’ past. She was born a carny, but raised as a normal human. Magic lives in her blood, but it hasn’t reached her heart. To find out who she really is, and why carnies are disappearing, Olive must deceive the king with the help of Alex the knife thrower.

Olive and Alex play a dangerous game with their emotions when they decide to have a fling during Olive’s stay. They both lead very different lives and decide that being together for the rest of their lives is not possible, but a short affair is certainly on the menu. Will they make it through the annual festival with both their hearts and lives intact or will the king take matters into his own hands?

So, if the blurb sounds exciting to you, please feel free to sign up as a beta reader for the book using the form below!

One thought on “My Self-Publishing Journal | Need Beta Readers!

  1. Pingback: My Self-Publishing Journal | The Cost | Kayla Curry

Leave a Reply

