Rebecca Hamilton’s Favorite Paranormal Novels

Hello all! Rebecca Hamilton here! I’m stopping by as part of my tour to celebrate the German release of The Forever Girl! You can learn more about that and all the cool stuff planned for this month by hopping over to my BLOG.

I’m super excited to be on Kayla Curry’s blog today because she shares my love for paranormal stories! And today, that’s exactly what I’m here to share. Below you will find my list of favorite paranormal books!

virgin_small_plains_paper_b1) The Virgin of Small Plains by Nancy Pickard

In the two decades following the death of the “Virgin of Small Plains”, strange miracles visit those who faithfully tend to her grave; some even believe that her spirit can cure deadly illnesses.

Nancy Pickard is one of my favorite novels and this is one of my favorite novels with paranormal elements to it. It’s only a slight paranormal twist, but sometimes those are the best paranormal stories of all.

This one is MYSTERY.

Twilightbook2) Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Once Bella meets the mysterious and alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn.

This book gets a lot of hate, and while I do agree it things could have been differently, the reality is, it wasn’t done differently! And millions of people like it just the way it is! Focusing on the good, I will say it’s an interesting story and I got lost in it! It reignited my passion for reading, and for that it will always be a memorable story for me.

This one is a TEEN ROMANCE.

Carrie-Novel-Cover3) Carrie by Stephen King

Stephen King’s legendary debut, about a teenage outcast and the revenge she enacts on her classmates.

I’m not a big Stephen King fan, I hate to admit, but when it comes to plot and characters, his talent is undeniable! I recently read this book because I had been planning to see the newest version in theaters (loved that, too, by the way!) and so I gave this a read. And the bottom line is, I just really love the way he handled this story and the paranormal aspects involved in it.

This one is HORROR.

Dead_Until_Dark_by_Charlaine_Harris_review4) The Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris (most of it…)

Sookie Stackhouse is just a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. Until the vampire of her dreams walks into her life-and one of her coworkers checks out…. Maybe having a vampire for a boyfriend isn’t such a bright idea.

I loved most of the Sookie Stackhouse series, up until the book that that I don’t remember much about. The one where Sookie is giving Eric blowjobs and a lot of background story is interspersed to catch new readers up on all that had transpired previously. I love Eric, and I love

the plot of these stories, but my heart remains with the earlier books in this series. They were fast-paced, fun, tense reads!

These are Adult Urban Fantasy.

particular-sadness-of-lemon-cake-25) The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender

On the eve of her ninth birthday, unassuming Rose Edelstein, a girl at the periphery of schoolyard games and her distracted parents’ attention, bites into her mother’s homemade lemon-chocolate cake and discovers she has a magical gift: she can taste her mother’s emotions in the cake.

This was my first book by this author, and perhaps I need to read more! Plot holes aside, this is such a quirky idea dealing with supernatural abilities. I loved the characters and writing style and could read the book again just for the enjoyment of exceptional prose.

This one is LITERARY FICTION.

These are my top five favorite paranormal books. And it also reveals one of the things I like BEST about paranormal fiction: You can include it in just about any genre! I love reading books whether they are heavily or lightly paranormally-influenced J

What are some of YOUR favorite Paranormal Books?

Find Rebecca and her books on her website!

One thought on “Rebecca Hamilton’s Favorite Paranormal Novels

  1. Pingback: Forever Girl Month NOVEMBER 2013! #amreading #paranormalfantasy #theforevergirl | Becca Hamilton Books

Leave a Reply

