My Marketing Advice for Beginning Authors

It’s been a while since I’ve published anything on this blog about marketing. Lately I’ve been asked by many authors about marketing advice, so I decided to put it into a blog post for the world to see! Here it is:
Define your brand NOW. To do this, simply come up with a mission statement. What do you want your readers to think of when they think of you and your work? What do you want them to learn from you or have in common with you?
dialog-148815_640Now take your mission statement and make a one sentence tagline to define you and your work.  Mine is: The magic of imagination is more powerful than any magic in a story.
Once you’ve done that, define 4 to 8 keywords you want your audience to think of when they think of you. Now use your mission statement, your tagline and your keywords in EVERYTHING you do. Website design, blog design, cover design, social media interaction, advertising, newsletters, and anything else. Before you post an image or put up a new blog post, ask yourself if it relates to your mission statement, tagline or keywords in some way. For example, if you choose “Passionate” as one of your keywords. You can post images that invoke that emotion or somehow show people how passionate you or your work are.
As for basic advice here is a list of stuff to make sure you are doing:
  • Use the same username across all social media platforms. Also use the same profile picture. This helps people recognize you easier.
  • Start a blog and update your blog once a week. You can post about other authors, yourself or anything you think your readers maybe be interested in.
  • Start an author facebook page and start gaining “Likes.” The best way to do this is to post funny, visually stunning, and interesting stuff. Make sure that everything you post solidifies your brand and/or tells people a little about who you are. For example, if you like watching Star Wars, post funny Star Wars stuff. Then, when your book comes out you can mix in posts about your work. Keep posting the other stuff, but now that you have formed a connection with your audience through your likes and dislikes, they are much more likely to support you and your work.
  • Join triberr.com and become a member of someone’s tribe, or a few tribes. This helps expand the reach of your blog posts. It’s like a post exchange. You can share their stuff and they can share yours.
  • If your blog is separate from your website, make sure they look similar by using the same images and colors and don’t forget to link them somehow so that people can easily find one from the other.
  • Join in blog hops and exchange guest posts with other authors. This helps reach new audiences, and some of them are great for writing exercises.

Well, that is my advice. Take it or leave it. I’m not exactly an expert, but I’ve been at this for over a year now and I’m just now starting to realize what it takes to reach people. Always be on the lookout for new advice and trends and keep going. It’s a tough world out there, but if you persevere, you’ll make it some day.

6 thoughts on “My Marketing Advice for Beginning Authors

  1. Great stuff. I’m a little bit behind you on this path, Kayla, so I appreciate the knowledge. Is there any practical or measurable benefits from getting “Likes” on the FB page? A lot of people discuss the importance of getting the Likes, but I still don’t understand what the payoff is. Just curious.

    • Facebook is a very important platform where you can build your audience. In fact, I think that Facebook is the most important platform because let you see what posts work and what posts don’t. Every week, I analyze the insights on my page and the insights on my clients’ 2 pages.

      I look at how many new likes there were, how many people my posts reached, and how many people engaged with those posts. I also look at which posts did the best and take note of the ones that didn’t do so great.

      By doing this, and by timing your posts to go up at the peak time of the day when your audience is online, you can reach a large part of your audience without having to pay to promote your posts.

      How does this result in sales? Well, if you make sure to post mostly things that don’t relate to your book, and instead post things that are funny, engaging and also telling of who you are as a person, when it comes time to post news about your book, your audience will already be interested in what you have to say.

      Having a good mixture of engaging posts and promotional posts is important. I would suggest a ratio of 3 to 1 or even better, 4 to 1. So, for every promotional post you put up, you should have 3 or 4 non-promotional. One of those non-promotional can also be used to promote someone other than yourself or to tell people about your latest blog post.

      Wow, this was long. Maybe I should do a facebook blog. Anyway, once you have 100 likers on your facebook page you gain access to your insights. Poke around the insights section of your page and learn about your audience. what age group are they? When are they online? What do they like (posts with large numbers) or dislike (posts with small numbers)?

  2. Wow! Fantastic! I guess I pulled your next blog out of you – you’re welcome. 🙂

    Seriously, this is really, really, helpful information and I thank you for taking the time to educate those of us who are just starting out. My FB page has only been up for a week or so, so I don’t have many Likes yet and I haven’t even poked around the admin area much. I can’t wait to start watching the data and making the adjustments you suggest above. I also appreciate the tip about not just feeling like you have to promote constantly. I don’t really have any experience with that anyway. On the other hand, I’ve been trying to get people to like me my whole life – so that experience might finally pay off! 🙂

Leave a Reply

