Guest Blogger: Ksenia Anske

When I saw a video where Garrett Robinson interviewed Ksenia Anske, I instantly felt the need to reach out to this amazing woman and ask her to please write a guest post on my blog. She was gracious enough to accept and here is her guest blog. Please get to know this awesome author and check out the books on her site!

Inspirational and Funny Stuff about Writing by Ksenia Anske

Kayla asked me to write a guest blog post on writing, on something inspirational, and funny, and stuff about writing. Hence, I will attempt here to fulfill her wishes and touch on all three subjects, as in, the inspiration to write, the fun of writing, and the stuff of writing. Wait, did I get this right? Let me see. I think it should be the stuff of inspiration, the writing of fun, and the… I have just confused myself. And I just pulled your leg. Why? To show you that you can write complete nonsense that’s funny and that’s called writing, because writing is really about writing, and nothing else. A lot of beginning writers ask me, how do you do it, and how long do you write per day, and what is your word goal, and how to you develop characters, and stuff. And you know what? None of this matters. When you start out, the only thing that all of these terms do to you is scare you. How can you possible write a book that’s, like, 100,000 words long AND develop multiple characters, AND write great dialogue, AND do superb descriptions, AND take care of the plot and sub-plots, AND watch your grammar, AND not forget about the theme of the book, AND… I think you get the point, so I’ll stop.

Ksenia Anske

The only thing you have to think about when writing is writing every day, at least a page, but, no matter what, KEEP WRITING. The reason is, it’s only after you have written a bunch of books that you really start to understand the meaning of the above-mentioned terms. In the beginning, if you will focus on them, they will only distract you. Worse, they will launch you into a writer’s block and you will want to shut yourself in the closet, hide under a furry blanket, sulk, and never come out again. I know, I’ve been there, although I like to hide under the bed. There are some very tasty monsters there. Anyway… I’m using a very simple rule as to what to write about – write about your deepest pain. All of us have this thing that gives us nightmares, even it it’s a memory of not being able to tackle tying your shoelaces for the first time. I think I was traumatized for life by the entire experience, and they didn’t have velcro when I grew up? But, seriously, there is this one thing you haven’t told anyone about, it’s your private pain. This is the beauty of fiction, it’s FICTION. You can write your feelings into stories, putting your words into the mouths of your characters, and get away with it. The way I write, I simply think about my pain and write what I feel. The rest kind of grows on top of it.

There is this old writing workshop saying that I learned today from my mentor, author of thrillers Michael Gruber, and it goes like this. Every writer has to go through 4 stages: madman, carpenter, architect, judge. So the madman just spills shit on the page. That’s what I do, a lot. I just charge forward, without thinking, my only deal to write every day until my 1st draft is done. Then comes in the carpenter, fixing the sentence structure, paragraphs, continuity, dialogue, descriptions, you name it, all the little things that need to be fixed to make it legible, that’s 2nd draft. Then the architect comes in. Now, I think I am at about carpenter level right now. I still suck at the other two, and I’m on my 4th novel. Man, I hope by the 20th I will get all levels! Anyway, the architect gives the book form, so it really reads like a complete story, that’s draft 3. And then the judge says, yes, this works, or, no, this sucks. That’s kind of like 4th draft, if needed, but it’s more of a learning point after doing the first three. So, my point here being, if I focused on the terms and the rules and what other people told me or what I read in books about writing, I would’ve never even dared. Therefore, it’s necessary to bad a madman, or, in my case, a madwoman, to write. Hey, if you think about it, it’s easy, right? Just start thinking about your personal pain, write down what you feel, and keep writing every day until you got about 100,000 words. Done! I know it sounds crazy to go about it this way, but this is how I wrote my first trilogy, Siren Suicides, and by the end of Draft 5 I learned so much, that all I can tell you, don’t wait for the perfect moment, don’t be afraid to be bad, just WRITE. You will learn by doing.

Siren Suicides

Find Ksenia and her books!

blog | goodreads | twitter | facebook 

The Siren Suicides Series is a three book paranormal fantasy series. Here is the blurb for book 1, I Chose to Die:

On a rainy September morning that just so happens to be her sixteenth birthday, Ailen Bright, a chicken-legged, straw-haired teenager, decides to commit suicide via drowning in the family bathtub. The ornate marble tub, adhering to her abusive father’s love for anything expensive and Italian, is decorated by five sirens – who seemingly help her escape the house when her father breaks down the bathroom door. After an almost-successful suicide attempt number two, which lands her at the bottom of a lake, she learns that sirens are, in fact, real, and they want to turn her into one of them. An amazing, yet dark look into the mind and heart of a suicidal teenager, this urban fantasy follows Ailen’s struggle to figure out the meaning of life, the unraveling of her confusing feelings for her theatrically goofy best friend Hunter, and her desperate battle for her father’s love.

You can get this book and the others on her website. She has set up a donation system, so head over to get the ebooks for the price you want. I grabbed book one and have started reading and so far I am captivated by the book and the main character.

2 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Ksenia Anske

Leave a Reply

