Fortune Teller Blog Hop!

fortune teller blog hop copy

Welcome to the Fortune Teller Blog Hop! I am your host, Kayla Curry. I came up with this hop as a fun way to foreshadow my character’s future in my new WIP, Where the Carnies Are.

First, I’ll tell you about the hop. Participants were challenged to write about one of their characters meeting a fortune teller. They can use this hop to write about a character in an already published work, or to write about a character in a WIP (Work in Progress). All posts are going up today and at the end of my post you’ll see a list of the participants linked to their blogs. Feel free to hop around and check out what they’ve written!

Now, I must tell you a bit about Where the Carnies Are. This novel is going to be unlike anything I’ve ever written and has a bit more romance it in that my previous works. It’s also somewhat of a paranormal romance, since the carnies in this world are magical.

Here is the tentative blurb:

Olive is having a very bad day. She caught her boyfriend cheating on her, she lost her job, and she stumbled into a portal leading to a carnival kingdom which she can’t escape. The good news is she meets an eccentric, but very handsome knife thrower. The bad news is she can’t go home for another two months.

The world she lands in is full of sideshow characters, terrifying amusement rides and her biological parents’ past. She was born a carny, but raised as a normal human. Magic lives in her blood, but it hasn’t reached her heart. To find out who she really is, Olive must deceive the Carnival King with the help of Alex the knife thrower.

Olive and Alex play a dangerous game with their emotions when they decide to have a fling during Olive’s stay. They both lead very different lives and decide that being together for the rest of their lives is not possible, but a short affair is certainly on the menu. Will they make it the two months with both their hearts and lives intact or will the king take matters into his own hands?

And now, the Fortune Teller scene, that takes place a few years before the book:

The carnival is in town and my roommate and best friend, Cora, wants to go.

“Please, Olive? Come with me and get your mind off of things. You deserve to have a little fun. Work is stressing you out and you need to unwind.”

“I’m not going on any rides,” I said.

“Fine! We’ll stick to the food, the fun houses, the games and the sideshows.”

“Do carnivals even have sideshows any more?”

“This one does!”

A few hours later, we arrived at the carnival. Kids were screaming, parents were chasing them around, and the smell of cotton candy was in the air. Cora was excited, but I just felt like grabbing a slice of pizza and sitting on a bench for a while. The lights were too bright and the rides squeaked in a way that grated on my nerves.

“Let’s eat first and then play some games,” she said. I nodded and followed her to the line for pizza.

While we waited, a few guys that Cora knew walked up to us. I tuned out most of what they were saying. They seemed more interested in her anyway.

“Olive?” Cora said.

I snapped out of my haze and looked at her.

“They want to know if we want to go on the Ferris Wheel with them.”

I looked at the giant Ferris Wheel that the carnival had set up. It was the kind that had cages that flipped upside down at the top. No way.

“No thanks, but you can go if you want. You might want to go before you eat.”

“Are you sure?”

“Yeah, I will grab a slice of pizza and wait for you on the nice safe ground.”

They guys shrugged and started to walk off. Cora turned and told me she’d be back soon.

I ate my pizza and they were still going on rides when I finished, so I decided to walk around a bit. There was a tent with a sign labeled, Madam Sergi – Fortune Teller. The words were painted in an ornate text and the tent glowed a pretty purple from lights within it. I shrugged my shoulders and decided to go in. I’d never really believed in this sort of thing, but whatever helped me pass the time until I could go home was fine with me.

The tent flaps were open and inside there was an old woman with black hair, a purple robe-like dress and a frail looking frame. She looked to be at least 80 years old.

“Come in, child,” she said.

“Hello, I’m–”

“No introduction is needed. I’ll find everything I need to know during the session. Please sit down. The fee is five dollars.”

I pulled a five from my purse and placed it on the table.

“Tell me dear. What do you want to know.”

That was a tough question. I hadn’t come in here with any particular motive. “Something about my future, I guess.”

“Well, that’s a start. Please lend me something personal of yours. Something you carry with you often.”

“I wear this necklace almost every day,” I said as I took off the necklace that had caught my eye at a department store and handed it to her.

She held the necklace in her wrinkled hands and closed her eyes. There was a crystal ball on the table that started to glow a white light. She started to hum and then after a few uncomfortable moments, she opened her eyes wide and looked straight into mine.

“You are the daughter of two important people. You must not give up on your search for them. Your path leads to a bright future, but only if you can find out who you truly are. Once you do, everything will become clear to you. A word of warning, before you go. You must not trust the man that begs it, but only the man who proves his trustworthiness. If you trust the man that begs it, you will not live to fulfill your destiny. Do not trust the one who wishes to buy your trust. Do you understand?”

I was speechless at this point. She couldn’t know I was adopted. There was no way. What was she going on about? Trust? Two men who would try to gain my trust? One could be the death of me?

“Do you understand? Do not trust the one who tries to buy it! Do not trust the one who tries to buy it! Trust must be earned!”

I nodded as I backed away from this woman who seemed to be worked up over something that made no sense to me. I turned to leave, but grabbed my arm and said, “Forget about all this until you need it.”

Suddenly, I was on the ground in the middle of the picnic area of the carnival and Cora was over me, telling me to wake up.

I lunged forward to a seated position. I felt like a dream was escaping me. Or maybe something more important than a dream. I thought I remembered going to see a fortune teller, but when I looked over to the area I thought the tent would be, it was gone. Something strange had happened. My necklace was gone too. I fought to remember anything. Cora was most likely dialing 911 on her cell as a small crowd started to gather.

“Cora, it’s okay. I think I was just over thinking my job and keeping all the stress in and passed out. I’m fine now.”

“Are you sure?” she asked with a lifted brow. “I can press send right now and get the police and ambulance here.”

“No, don’t do that. I’m fine, really. It must be the stress.”

“I told you you were stressed. Maybe we should just go home and get you a nice hot bath and a book.”

“Sounds good to me,” I replied.

On our way out of the carnival, I couldn’t help but look back at the spot I swore held a tent just a little while ago.

Thanks for reading! Check out the other pieces from these participants:

Alyssa Auch
N.R. Wick
Steve Vernon
A. F. Stewart
Linda Taylor
Tami Von Zalez
Quanie Miller
Ellen Harger
Deborah Nam-Krane
Erin Cawood
Danielle-Claude Ngontang Mba
Wendy Ely
Laure Reminick

19 thoughts on “Fortune Teller Blog Hop!

  1. Pingback: Fortune Teller Blog Hop « Ellen Harger

Leave a Reply

