Writing Exercise: Bad Ending

Wednesday Writing Exercise

I’ll bet you didn’t know I was a finalist in a bad ending contest. Yep, something to be really proud of. (Ha, ha) I was a finalist in the 2011 bad ending contest run by White Eagle Coffee Store Press. You can read my ending to a truly “fictional” novel–meaning it does not exist–right HERE. It looks like the contest has since shut down? I don’t know. It doesn’t look like there is a lot of activity there, but it was really fun.

If you’ve never heard of The Scent of an Ending Contest, then you’re probably thinking, “Why on earth would you enter a bad ending contest?” For fun, obviously. That’s not the only reason though. I mainly used it as a writing exercise. I wanted to see how and if I could write a bad ending in a well-written way. Apparently, I didn’t do too bad at that, I think?

My point is, you should definitely strive to write weird and strange things. Not to show to anyone or to publish, but just to see what you can do and to help you define your style. Challenge yourself to the same thing I did. Write a 25-125 word ending to a fake novel. Make it the worst ending you can think of, but write it well. If you want to, you can post your ending in the comments below. Don’t forget to give your fake novel a title!

Leave a Reply

